Paranoia about the privacy of our Facebook pages is becoming as widespread as our fear of clowns

The recurring Facebook hoax warning users their posts will become public is back with a vengeance. So, if you're seeing a number of posts informing you to share the message to keep Facebook from sharing your public information, DON'T PANIC. 

The widely-circulating post (or some iteration of it) reads: 

Deadline tomorrow !!! Everything you've ever posted becomes public from tomorrow. Even messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. It costs nothing for a simple copy and paste, better safe than sorry. Channel 13 News talked about the change in Facebook's privacy policy. I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, messages or posts, both past and future. With this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. just copy and paste.

...We're thinking Facebook is probably getting sick of reminding us that this isn't actually true. 

The hoax first started appearing in November 2012. The post was copied and shared so widely that Facebook issued the following statement:

There is a rumor circulating that Facebook is making a change related to ownership of users' information or the content they post to the site. This is false. Anyone who uses Facebook owns and controls the content and information they post, as stated in our terms. They control how that content and information is shared. That is our policy, and it always has been.

When the hoax popped up again in 2015, Facebook decided to get a little more clever in its response. 

At the time, one user commented on Facebook's post warning people that Facebook would begin charging its users. And Facebook didn't have time for that nonsense, either. 

"Facebook is free and always will be," the company replied.

Facebook is now requesting that users who see the post report it as spam. Your photos are safe...For now..... Just kidding, your photos are safe, people.